NASCAR is holding its first road race of the 2022 Cup Series season this weekend. Qualifying for the race, the Echopark Automotive Grand Prix at the Circuit of the Americas outside Austin, Texas, took place Saturday.

Ten drivers advanced to the final round of qualifying after an initial round of time-trial runs on the 3.41-mile COTA circuit.

Six road races are on the The 2022 Cup Series schedule: at COTA, Sonoma, Road America, Indianapolis, Watkins Glen and the Charlotte ROVAL.

MORE: Watch today’s race live with fuboTV (free trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at COTA?

Team Penske driver Ryan Blaney earned the pole position with a qualifying speed of 92.759 mph. He did that despite crashing in practice and damaging the left side of his car.

“Talk about an up-and-down day for sure, from putting it in the barriers on my third lap and not knowing if the car was killed, if we would have to go to a backup, what it was going to take to fix it,” he said, per

Blaney had to sweat out the qualifying run of TrackHouse Racing’s Daniel Suarez, who turned in a lap of 92.741 mph. That run earned Suarez the second spot on the grid for Sunday’s race (3:49 p.m. ET green flag; Fox, TSN, PRN).

This is Blaney’s second pole of the season. He qualified first for the March 13 race at Phoenix.

Starting lineup for COTA race

The field for Sunday’s race includes a handful of road-course specialists: AJ Allmendinger, Loris Hezemans, Boris Said, Joey Hand and Andy Lally. Allmendinger is racing full time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Kaz Grala is making his second start of the season. He’s driving for TMT Racing, the organization backed by boxing legend Floyd Mayweather Jr. Grala qualified for the Daytona 500 in February and finished 26th.

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
2 Daniel Suarez 99 TrackHouse Racing
3 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
4 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
5 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
7 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
10 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
11 Kurt Busch 45 23XI Racing
12 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
13 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
14 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
16 Ross Chastain 1 TrackHouse Racing
17 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
18 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
19 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
20 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
21 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
22 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
23 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
24 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
25 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
26 Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
27 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
28 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
29 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
30 Erik Jones 43 Petty GMS Motorsports
31 Kaz Grala 50 TMT Racing
32 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
33 Ty Dillon 42 Petty GMS Motorsports
34 Josh Bilicki 77 Spire Motorsports
35 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
36 Loris Hezemans 27 Team Hezeberg
37 Boris Said 66 Motorsports Business Management
38 Joey Hand 15 Rick Ware Racing
39 Andy Lally 78 Live Fast Motorsports


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *